Main Menu

Four Stone Pigman Lawyers Named "Lawyer of the Year" by Best Lawyers; 33 Named to Best Lawyers List

Best Lawyers in America selected Hirschel Abbott, Jr., Joseph Caverly, Wayne Lee and Larry Orlansky as 2018 "Lawyers of the Year" in New Orleans.  Mr. Abbott was recognized for Trusts and Estates; Mr. Caverly was recognized for Mergers and Acquisitions Law; Mr. Lee was recognized for Antitrust Litigation; and Mr. Orlansky was recognized for Gaming Law.  Only a single lawyer in each practice area and designated metropolitan area is honored as a "Lawyer of the Year."

In addition, 33 Stone Pigman lawyers, representing 36 areas of law, were selected by their peers for inclusion in the 2018 Edition of Best Lawyers in America.  The lawyers, and the practice areas in which they are listed, are:

  • Hirschel T. Abbott, Jr.:  Trusts and Estates; and Trusts and Estates Litigation
  • Barry W. Ashe:  Appellate Practice; Bet-the-Company Litigation; and Commercial Litigation
  • Carmelite M. Bertaut:  Commercial Litigation; Mass Tort Litigation/Class Actions - Defendants; and Product Liability Litigation - Defendants
  • Stephen G. Bullock:  Commercial Litigation; and Intellectual Property Litigation
  • Joseph L. Caverly:  Corporate Law; Mergers and Acquisitions Law; and Venture Capital Law
  • Douglas J. Cochran:  Commercial Litigation; and Insurance Law
  • John P. Cogan, Jr.:  Commercial Litigation; Energy Law; International Trade and Finance Law; Oil and Gas Law; and Project Finance Law
  • John W. Colbert:  Tax Law
  • Noel J. Darce:  Energy Regulatory Law; and Utilities Law
  • Mary L. Dumestre:  Commercial Litigation
  • John P. Farnsworth:  Commercial Litigation
  • Michael R. Fontham:  Appellate Practice; and Energy Law
  • James C. Gulotta, Jr.:  Commercial Litigation; Environmental Litigation; and Mass Tort Litigation/Class Actions - Defendants   
  • Kathryn M. Knight:  Employment Law – Management; and Labor and Employment Litigation
  • John M. Landis:  Antitrust Litigation; and Bankruptcy Litigation
  • Wayne J. Lee:  Antitrust Litigation; Bet-the-Company Litigation; Commercial Litigation; Insurance Law; and Personal Injury Litigation - Defendants
  • Paul J. Masinter:  Commercial Litigation
  • Brett Mason: Insurance Law; and Personal Injury Litigation - Defendants
  • Michael W. McKay:  Commercial Litigation
  • Lawrence Orlansky: Commercial Litigation; Gaming Law; Legal Malpractice Law - Defendants; and Securities Litigation
  • Laura Walker Plunkett:  Closely Held Companies and Family Businesses Law; and Trusts and Estates
  • Edward B. Poitevent, II:  Energy Law; and Oil and Gas Law
  • David C. Rieveschl:  Corporate Law
  • Michael R. Schneider:  Construction Law; Leisure and Hospitality Law; and Real Estate Law
  • James E.A. Slaton:  Real Estate Law
  • Susan G. Talley:  Banking and Finance Law; and Real Estate Law
  • Peter M. Thomson:  Admiralty and Maritime Law
  • William D. Treeby:  Commercial Litigation; and Environmental Litigation
  • Michael Q. Walshe:  Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law
  • Scott T. Whittaker:  Business Organizations (including LLCs and Partnerships); Corporate Law; Mergers and Acquisitions Law; Real Estate Law; and Venture Capital Law
  • Rachel Wendt Wisdom:  Commercial Litigation; Labor and Employment Litigation; and Mass Tort Litigation/Class Actions - Defendants
  • Phillip A. Wittmann:  Bet-the-Company Litigation; Commercial Litigation; Environmental Litigation; and Personal Injury Litigation - Defendants
  • Paul L. Zimmering:  Energy Law

Best Lawyers has published its list for over three decades and is considered by many as one of the most respected peer-review publications in the legal profession.  Lawyers on the Best Lawyers in America list are divided by geographic region and practice areas and are reviewed by their peers on the basis of professional expertise.

Back to Page